The Corey Slovis Award for Excellence in Education



Corey Slovis Award Recipients*

2018 Joseph E. Holley, MD


Marc Conterato, MD


K. Sophia Dyer, M.D.





Christopher Colwell, MD




Jeffrey M. Goodloe, MD, NREMT-P


Dr. Crawford Mechem

*Recipients of the Corey Slovis Award are selected by the members of the U.S. Metropolitan Municipalities Emergency Medical Services Medical Directors Consortium, the de facto coalition of jurisdictional 9-1-1 system medical directors for the nation’s most populous cities, as well as the medical directors/lead medical officers for key related federal agencies and units such as the FBI, U.S. Secret Service, White House Medical Unit, Immigration and Customs Enforcement, and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Collectively, this small, but cohesive, cadre of about two dozen emergency care physicians is responsible for the day-to-day out-of-hospital 9-1-1 emergency and resuscitative care for about 50,000,000 Americans as well as for guiding the medical aspects of homeland security and disaster mitigation in the nation’s highest-risk venues.